The College is built from six components: the Board, National Advisory Council, Senior Management Team, Educational Advisory Group, national chapters and local faculty boards.

The Board

A culturally diverse Board governs the College; elected Board members are general practitioners, supported by independent directors. The seven Board members include:

  •  An elected President
  •  Three elected College Fellows
  •  A representative from Te Akoranga a Māui 
  •  Up to two members appointed by the Board, who need not be members of the College

Meet the Board

The National Advisory Council

The Council is the listening post for all College members and relays critical viewpoints from their local Faculty or Chapter regarding policy issues, priorities for policy work and other opinions from around New Zealand to the Board. The Council comprises of one member from every Faculty and Chapter all over New Zealand.

Meet the National Advisory Council

Senior Management Team

The senior management team leads College staff to achieve our strategic aims of:

  •  Growing the GP workforce
  •  Setting quality standards for practices
  •  Representing our members
  •  Contributing to equitable health care for all New Zealanders

Meet the Senior Management Team


The Education Advisory Group

The EAG provides our Board, chief executive and management team with expert advice for our education and training programmes, including GPEP for registrars, Fellowship Assessment standards, and continuing professional development for Fellows.

Meet the EAG


All members of the College belong to a regional Faculty where they have the opportunity to be involved in local discussion and decision-making. The nine Faculties from North to South are:

  • Northland
  • Auckland
  • Waikato
  • Hawkes Bay
  • Wellington
  • Nelson/Marlborough
  • Canterbury
  • Otago
  • Southland.

Log-in to your member’s dashboard to find your Faculty. 

Te Akoranga a Māui 

The name of Te Akoranga a Māui holds special significance for its members and for the College. 

Māui refers to Sir Māui Pōmare, the first Māori doctor to graduate from any medical school, and Akoranga means teaching, learning and education. With more than 150 members, Te Akoranga a Māui is proud to be the first indigenous representative group established in any Australian or New Zealand medical college. 


There are a further seven sub-Faculties which are designed to build more collaboration and connection particularly in North Island regions. Every College member automatically receives news about the activities of their Faculty via email.

Log-in to your member’s dashboard and subscribe to the relevant sub-Faculties in the ‘My details’ section (login required).


Unlike Faculties, Chapters are optional groups of members that revolve around major national areas of practice. The four Chapters are:

Pacific Chapter

Made up of members who identify as Pasifika, it also welcomes members who serve communities with large Pacific populations or have interest in Pacific health issues.

Registrars’ Chapter

The voice of registrars; GPEP1 seminar groups elect a representative. During GPEP2/3 a representative is elected from each learning group and one from Rural Hospital Medicine. The resulting committee works together to provide activities that support and represent registrars.

Rural General Practitioners’ Chapter

What issues are facing rural practitioners? How can we put a ‘rural lens’ over the work of the College? What initiatives could improve the quality of rural training and general practice? Rural GPs have the opportunity to connect and collaborate to address these questions through the Chapter’s committees.

The Division of Rural Hospital Medicine

This Chapter serves as a hub to define and improve the body of knowledge for this specialist field, while providing education and collegial support. All Division of Rural Hospital Medicine New Zealand members automatically belong to this Chapter.

Join a Chapter

Log-in to your members dashboard to find the Chapters you're in. You can join other Chapters by going into the My details section and updating your preferences. 

College Rules

The College Rules set out who may become a member of the College, and members’ rights, duties and privileges. It also describes the College’s charitable purpose and how College will be governed.

The Rules were updated by a member vote at the College Annual General Meeting on 27 July 2019. 

College rules 2019.


Every meeting of the College Board and the National Advisory Council is summarised and made available to our members through minutes.

View minutes (log-in required)